SKU: HL51481480 Categories: ,


Breval Sonata in C Major for Cello Op. 40, No. 1

Series: Henle Music Folios

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition

Format: Softcover

Composer: Jean-Baptiste Bréval

Editor: Tabea Umbreit

At the end of the eighteenth century, cellist and composer Jean-Baptiste Bréval wrote not only virtuosic concerti for his instrument, but also easier sonatas and duets that still belong to the core repertoire of pedagogical cello literature. Opening with impressive chords, the Sonata in C-major op. 40 no. 1 also offers beginners the chance to savor beautiful melodies and master smaller shifts in position.

The Parisian first edition of 1799 leaves the choice of accompanying instrument open. For this reason, this Urtext edition offers several options: a two-part score from which a second cello may comfortably provide accompaniment during lessons, as well as a moderate setting for piano that may be used in concerts. Rounding off this starter kit for cello literature is a carefully marked solo part.

$16.95 (US)

Inventory #HL51481480

UPC: 840126957044

Publisher Code: HN1480

Width: 9.0″

Length: 12.0″

24 pages

Additional information