SKU: HL51480563 Categories: ,


Fauré Élégie for Cello, Op. 24

With Marked and Unmarked String Parts

Series: Henle Music Folios

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition

Format: Softcover Score and Solo Part

Composer: Gabriel Fauré

Editor: Jean-Christophe Monnier

Following the enthusiastic reception of his first Violin Sonata (HN 980), it was clear to Fauré that he would continue to write chamber music. In 1880 he wrote a little piece for cello and piano that was intended as the slow movement for a sonata. However, Fauré gave up the sonata project, instead publishing the piece under the title “Élégie.” It was so successful that Fauré was urged by the publisher to write further pieces. The conductor Édouard Colonne commissioned a version of the “Élégie” for orchestra in 1895, which was premièred two years later. As usual, this Henle Urtext edition contains both a marked and an unmarked solo part.

$12.95 (US)
Inventory #HL51480563
UPC: 884088947583
Publisher Code: HN563
Width: 9.25″
Length: 12.25″
8 pages

Additional information