SKU: HL51480417 Categories: ,


Haydn Concerto in C Major for Cello, Hob. VIIb: No. 1

composed by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

Cello and Piano

Series: Henle Music Folios

Publisher: Henle Urtext Edition

Format: Softcover

Composer: Joseph Haydn

Editor: Sonja Gerlach

Joseph Haydn’s concertos for violoncello and orchestra stand out for their lightness and elegance. The Concerto in C major Hob. VIIb:1 was most likely written between 1762 and 1765, when Haydn was already in service as Kapellmeister, or music director, to Prince Esterhazy. The concerto was for a long time known only through an entry by Haydn in his handwritten catalog of works, and the music itself was unknown. It was not until 1961 that a copy of the work was found, and since then it has successfully held its own against the Concerto in D major Hob. VII:2. The services of Haydn specialist of Haydn specialist Sonja Gerlach have been obtained for this edition of the concerto with piano accompaniment. She enriches the Urtext edition with a detailed preface that also examines focuses on the execution of the ornaments and the cadenzas.

$20.95 (US)

Inventory #HL51480417

UPC: 884088176105

Publisher Code: HN417

Width: 9.25″

Length: 12.25″

48 pages


Additional information